Second-time DUIs carry hefty penalties in Georgia

On Behalf of | Oct 14, 2022 | DUI |

Georgia is serious about punishing persons who drive while under the influence. A single DUI conviction can cause severe disruption to your life.

If you get caught driving drunk more than one time, the punishment you face becomes more severe.

Jail and probation

If you have more than one DUI conviction in ten years, you will get mandatory jail time on your second offense of at least three days. Most two-time offenders have to go to jail for 10 to 90 days. You will also have a probation period following your jail sentence. The court will also order you to complete community service for at least 30 days. You will also have to pay a fine of $1,000.

Loss of license

In addition to jail and probation, you will lose your license for a minimum of one year.  You cannot apply for a limited permit to drive to work for the first 120 days of your suspension. You will have to complete specific other tasks to get your license back. The license suspension will last three years if you cannot meet the requirements.

Reinstating your license

After a second DUI, you will need to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle to get your license back after suspension. This device is costly to install. You will also have to pay a reinstatement fee.  You may have to provide proof of completing a substance abuse treatment program.

A second DUI conviction will cost you more money, impact your freedom and significantly affect your daily life.