Georgia dramatically increases penalties for second and subsequent DUIs compared to first-time offenses. If you have a prior conviction for driving under the influence, you could face a prison sentence and other serious legal consequences.
Review the possible penalties for multiple DUI convictions in Georgia to understand the importance of defense in this situation.
A second DUI within five years of the first carries a mandatory sentence of at least 48 hours and up to one year in prison. For a third offense, the mandatory minimum increases to 15 days.
While a first-time DUI carries a license suspension of up to one year, that triples to three years for a second-time offense. A third DUI conviction results in a five-year loss of driving privileges. When you get your license back, you must pay for an ignition interlock device for at least six months.
Fines and court fees
For a second DUI, the fine doubles from $300 to $600 and can increase up to $1,000 depending on the circumstances of your case. A third DUI carries fines of $1,000 to $5,000. You will also need to pay $210 to get your driving privileges back after suspension. The court can order you to cover the cost of drug and alcohol screening along with treatment if necessary.
Both second and third DUI offenses also carry a mandatory minimum of 30 days of community service. In addition to these penalties, individuals convicted for a third-time DUI must pay to have their name, photo and address printed in the local paper as a habitual offender.