Review Georgia’s DUI penalties

| Nov 2, 2020 | DUI |

You can receive a conviction for driving under the influence in Georgia courts regardless of blood alcohol content. Law enforcement can arrest you with obvious drug or alcohol impairment or with a BAC of 0.08% or higher. 

Before facing the judge, review the possible legal consequences of a Georgia DUI charge. 

No prior convictions 

With no history of DUI, penalties in Georgia include: 

  • 12-month license suspension and $210 DMV fee 
  • $300 to $1,000 in fines 
  • Up to 12 months in jail 
  • Mandatory minimum of 40 community service hours 

One prior conviction 

The “look-back” period for DUI in Georgia is five years. For a second DUI within five years, you could receive: 

  • 36-month license suspension and $210 DMV fee 
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines 
  • Mandatory minimum of 48 hours and up to 12 months in jail 
  • Mandatory minimum of 30 days of community service  
  • Mandatory substance use disorder evaluation and treatment at your cost of indicated by the screening 

Two prior convictions 

When you receive a conviction for a third DUI in five years, the judge can order: 

  • 60-month license suspension and $210 DMV fee 
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines 
  • Mandatory minimum of 15 days and up to 12 months in jail 
  • Mandatory minimum of 30 days of community service  
  • Mandatory substance use disorder evaluation and treatment at your cost of indicated by the screening 
  • Seizure of your vehicle’s license plate 
  • Publication of your name and photo as a regular DUI offender in your local paper at your own expense 

You may also receive additional penalties for causing bodily injury, refusing a breath test or other extenuating circumstances.