While every state has its own laws regarding drug use and possession, many states have decriminalized marijuana. Georgia, however, is not one of those states, despite the fact that if you have a severe medical condition, you may be able to apply for medical marijuana. If you do not have a permit to use medical marijuana, the consequences for even personal possession can be severe.
According to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws, it is still a misdemeanor to possess any amount of marijuana in Georgia. Being caught with less than one ounce can land you a misdemeanor charge with a fine of up to $1,000 and jail time of up to one year. If you are caught with more than an ounce, you can be charged with a felony offense that could cost over $5,000 and land you in jail or prison for a maximum of ten years.
Hash and concentrates are handled very strictly in Georgia. Marijuana concentrate or hash is a more potent form of the plant that has been extracted as oil or condensed down to have a stronger effect. If you are caught with even less than a gram of concentrate, it is a felony offense. The fine can be the same as having over an ounce of the plant, while the jail or prison time ranges from one to three years. As with the plant, the potential penalties get steeper as the quantity increases.
This article is intended to educate you about marijuana penalties in Georgia, and should not be viewed as legal advice.